San Diego's Most Trusted Law Firm
As Seen on
How Much Is My Case Worth?
Address: 10070 Mesa Rim Rd #A, San Diego, CA 92121
Office Manager: Joel N.
Hours Of Operation
Monday: 24 hours
Tuesday: 24 hours
Wednesday: 24 hours
Thursday: 24 hours
Friday: 24 hours
Saturday: 24 hours
Sunday: 24 hours
San Diego Car Accident Lawyer
“What is a car accident lawyer? How much does one cost? Should I hire a local attorney in San Diego or should I go with a car accident lawyer that I saw on TV from another county?” These are common questions that are asked by most people while calling into our firm. We’re able to help 9/10 accident victims that contact us for our legal expertise whether the accident was big or small. Continue reading and we’ll educate you on everything you need to know about the difference between an experienced San Diego car accident lawyer and one that just has deep pockets for marketing and advertising budgets.
At San Diego Car Accident Lawyer we can help you after you’ve been injured in a car wreck, sustained substantial injuries, acquired high costing medical bills, and are in need of the legal experience (or blueprint) on how to claim compensation against the insurance companies.
We’re able to give our clients the ease of mind knowing that they’re not going up against an insurance company all alone. After someone has been injured due to a car crash or collision, their life may seem very low, dark, and in most cases, confused. If you feel that you fit the description, don’t hesitate to call our firm today and ask for a free case evaluation/consultation. We’re available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for all car accident victims.
We’re conveniently located in downtown San Diego and have a network of legal experts throughout both Southern and Northern California to better assist you. Visit our contact us page today to get in touch with San Diego Car Accident Lawyer today. You pay absolutely nothing if we can’t settle your case! Our fee is free if we can’t get you a settlement check for your injuries.
Tesla Car Accidents
Tesla has recently fallen under public scrutiny after their "autonomous" driving systems have malfunctioned and taken the lives of multiple Tesla accident victims.
Smart Car Accidents
Smart Cars and compact cars have great technology when it comes to protecting the lives of its passengers, but in the rare case that the vehicle malfunctions, we can help you fight for a settlement.
Uber Car Accidents
We've successfully awarded multiple clients that have been involved in Uber accidents throughout California. We are familiar with the insurance company that covers Uber and will fight tooth and nail for your case.
Lyft Car Accidents
We've successfully been awarded our past clients that have been involved in a car crash by the popular ride share Lyft. We'll help you fight for the million dollar policy that you deserve for the injuries you have received.
Request A Free Consulation
Call Now To Speak With A San Diego Car Accident Attorney Today
Before you call our firm, one thing you must keep in mind is the fact that we will never collect or charge you a single cent unless we can successfully beat your case. Our Car Accident Lawyers will work with a complete understanding that if your case is rejected, our work would have been done for free.
If your specific case requires that you seek medical treatment immediately and you are uninsured, we will send you to our own network of healthcare specialists to properly evaluate your injuries. You will not be charged upfront for these evaluations, but a lien will be placed on your car accident claim.
Your Complete Guide To San Diego Car Accident Attorneys
Have you been in a San Diego car accident? Check out this guide to learn more about reporting the accident, filing suit, finding fault, and other laws that will impact you. There are over 26 million licensed drivers in the state of California, and accidents are not uncommon. If you’ve lived in other places, you may be familiar with the basic car accident laws, but San Diego, CA is a unique county when it comes to automotive accidents.If you need to speak to a representative, feel free to call us at (858)333-4999.
Like many other states, the Golden State requires drivers to carry car insurance. Drivers must have liability insurance with the following minimum amounts:
- $15,000 for injury or death to an individual
- $30,000 for injury or death to more than one person
- $5,000 for property damage
In some instances, drivers may provide other forms of financial responsibility, including cash deposits or surety bonds. California has a “fault” system so drivers are responsible for paying any costs due to fault, even if it is not covered by their insurance.
For instance, if an individual’s car insurance only covered 80% of a victim’s expenses, the at-fault driver would be expected to make up the additional 20% out of pocket.
As a result, Californians oftentimes choose higher coverage options that will help them pay for any additional damages. If caught, uninsured drivers may face fines, license suspension of up to four years and an impounded car.
Additionally, uninsured drivers are still responsible for paying all lawsuit damages and cannot receive non-economic damages themselves, even if they were not at fault.
Who Was At Fault? Fault State
Before an insurance company will pay for any damages, California requires the policyholder must be found responsible for the accident. Because of this rule, California is considered a “fault” state, also referred to as a tort state.
In no-fault states, claims are encouraged to remain out of court by going through the insurance companies. Regardless of blame, the insurance company will compensate the policyholder for minor damages accrued.
In fault states, the person at fault for the accident bears all liability. If multiple people are responsible for the accident, liability is split.
If individuals wish to sue in California, they can take one of the following actions:
- File a claim through their personal car insurance company
- File a claim through the other driver’s insurance company
- Pursue a personal injury lawsuit
The restrictions inherent in no-fault states are limited in California, and citizens can choose several avenues through which to receive compensation. Many choose to file a lawsuit because insurance companies may attempt to undercut those seeking damages.
Reporting A Car Accident In San Diego
Anyone involved in a car accident involving injuries, death or damage estimated to cost over $1,000 in repairs must report the incident to the police. Failure to do so can lead to fines, hit-and-run charges, and license suspension.
Additionally, drivers should report the incident to the DMV within 10 days if someone is killed, property damage exceeds $1,000 or an individual is injured. Not doing so can lead to your license being suspended or revoked.
Regardless of how minor an accident may have been, it is always recommended drivers file a police report in case future issues arise.
If you have insurance, drivers will also have to report the incident to a claims representative.
However, it is advisable to avoid giving a recorded or written statement until you’ve discussed the accident with an attorney.
Proving Who Was At Fault
If you choose to pursue a lawsuit, it is integral to the case’s success you prove the other driver was at fault. Keep any photos and documents associated with the accident. Write down in detail what occurred and keep a list of contact information for officials, eyewitnesses, and drivers.
In a car accident case, proving fault will require demonstrating four things:
- The other driver had a duty toward you. In this case, that duty would be to drive safely.
- The other driver breached that duty.
- The breach resulted in an injury to the plaintiff.
- The plaintiff suffered real injuries.
Mostly, fault is proven through documentation or even recreations of the accident. If you were not found to be “at-fault”, you can sue for personal injury or other damages even if they were partially responsible for the crash.
For example, if a driver was found to be 10% at fault and received re-compensation of $10,000, he or she would only obtain $9,000. Fault is determined based on police reports, eyewitnesses and any other evidence demonstrated during the trial.
This regulation is only in place for when a lawsuit is settled in court, which happens rarely. Many times, tort cases are solved before ever reaching a judge
Statue Of Limitations
Each state has different statute of limitations, a deadline by which an individual must file a claim if he or she wishes to sue. Because California is a “fault” state, many victims of accidents may have to sue for personal injury in order to receive full compensation.
Once the statute of limitations has passed, very rarely will an individual be able to pursue a case. If you’ve been in a car accident, Californians have two years from the date of the accident to file a claim. If the accident resulted in a death, plaintiffs will have two years from the date of the death to file.
However, if you would like to file a lawsuit concerning only vehicular damages, California Code of Civil Procedure section 338 provides three years to pursue the claim.